New Mexico

Report an error to info@dentalcenetwork.com.  We would be happy to update our information.

Updated:  5/1/2018

Summary Dentist

Renewal Deadline:  June 30th
Renewal Period:  3 Years
Required Hours:  60

State Mandated CE Courses: 3 hrs in management of pain with controlled substances, Infection control, CPR 

Limits on Courses: 30 hours of self-study

Other:  5hrs required for sedation renewal

Summary RDH

Renewal Deadline:  June 30th
Renewal Period:  3 Years
Required Hours:  45

State Mandated CE Courses: Infection control and CPR 

Limits on Courses: 30 hours of self-study

 

 

The Board of Dental Health Care of New Mexico

Rules Regulations Practice Act 16.5.10 NMAC and 16.5.23 NMAC

Source Link

TITLE 16             OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 5        DENTISTRY (DENTISTS, DENTAL HYGIENISTS, ETC.)

PART 10               DENTISTS, CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

 

16.5.10.1              ISSUING AGENCY:  New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care.

16.5.10.2               SCOPE:  The provisions of Part 10 of Chapter 5 apply to all licensed dentists who are applying to renew their license.

16.5.10.3               STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Part 10 of Chapter 5 is promulgated pursuant to the Dental Health Care Act, Section 61-5A-10 NMSA 1978 (1996 Repl. Pamp.).

16.5.10.4               DURATION:  Permanent.

16.5.10.5               EFFECTIVE DATE:  September 30, 1996, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section.

16.5.10.6               OBJECTIVE:  To establish criteria for continuing education for dentists licensed in New Mexico.

16.5.10.7               DEFINITIONS:  [RESERVED]

16.5.10.8               HOURS REQUIRED:  60 hours of continuing education, a maximum of 30 hours can be on-line, webinars or self-study, are required during each triennial renewal cycle as defined in 16.5.1 NMAC.  Continuing education received after submission of renewal materials but prior to actual expiration date may be used for the requirements of the next renewal cycle. Continuing education requirements are pro-rated at 20 hours per full year of the initial licensing period. Initial licenses issued for less than a full year do not require continuing education for the first renewal.

16.5.10.9               COURSES REQUIRED:  Continuing education coursework must contribute directly to the practice of dentistry and must comply with the requirements of 16.5.1.15 NMAC of these rules. The following courses are required for license renewal.

                A.            Proof of current certification in basic life support (BLS) or cardiac pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) accepted by the American heart association, the American red cross, or the American safety and health institute (ASHI); cannot be self-study course.

                B.            Infection control. As further defined in 16.5.1.16 NMAC, a course in infection control techniques and sterilization procedures per renewal period.

                C.            Education requirements: Any dentist holding enteral anxiolysis (minimal sedation), CSI, CSII, deep sedation and permit at large (AAL) are required to have a minimum of five hours of continuing education for the permit renewal (every six years) in medical emergencies, air way management, pharmacology, or anesthesia related topics.

                D.            Management of pain with controlled substances. Any dentists who holds a Federal drug enforcement administration registration to prescribe controlled substances shall sucessfully complete three continuing dental or medical education hours, as defined in Part 16.5.57 NMAC, in appropriate courses that shall include:

                                (1)           an understanding of the pharmacology and risks of controlled substances,

                                (2)           a basic awareness of the problems of abuse, addiction and diversion,

                                (3)           awareness of state and federal regulations for the prescription of controlled substances, and

                                (4)           management of the treatment of pain.

16.5.10.10             VERIFICATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION:  The board will select renewal applications for verification of continuing education. Audit requests will be included with the renewal notice and those selected individuals will be asked to submit proof of compliance with the continuing education requirements. Continuing education records may be audited by the board at any time. The records identified Subsection F of 16.5.1.15 NMAC are considered acceptable forms of documentation. Continuing education records must be maintained for one year following the renewal cycle in which they are earned.

16.5.10.11             EMERGENCY DEFERRAL:

                A.            Licensee unable to fulfill the continuing education requirements may apply to the board for an emergency deferral of the requirements due to extenuating circumstances as defined in 16.5.1.7 NMAC. Deferrals of up to four months may be granted by a designee of the board.

                B.            Licensee practicing or residing outside the United States shall not be required to fulfill the continuing education requirements for the period of the absence.

                                (1)           The board must be notified prior to license expiration that the licensee will be outside the US, including the period of the absence.

                                (2)           Upon return to the US, the licensee shall complete the continuing education required for the years of practice within the US during the renewal cycle, or apply for an emergency deferral.

HISTORY OF 16.5.10 NMAC:

Pre-NMAC History:  The material in this part was derived from that previously files with the commission of public records - state records center and archives as:

Article XIII, Disciplinary Proceedings, filed 3/12/81.

Article XIII, Disciplinary Proceedings, filed 1/12/82.

Article XIII, Disciplinary Proceedings, filed 3/30/82.

That applicable portion of Article XIII, Disciplinary Proceedings replaced by BOD Rule 12, Continuing Education Requirements, filed 2/9/89.

That applicable portion of BOD Rule 12, Continuing Education Requirements replaced by BODHC Rule DS 5-95, Dentists, Continuing Education Requirements, filed 5/5/95.

 

TITLE 16             OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 5        DENTISTRY (DENTISTS, DENTAL HYGIENISTS, ETC.)

PART 23               DENTAL HYGIENISTS, CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

 

16.5.23.1               ISSUING AGENCY:  New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care.

16.5.23.2               SCOPE:  The provisions of Part 23 of Chapter 5 apply to all licensed dental hygienists who are applying to renew their license.

16.5.23.3               STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Part 23 of Chapter 5 is promulgated pursuant to the Dental Health Care Act, Section 61-5A-10 NMSA 1978 (1996 Repl. Pamp.).

16.5.23.4               DURATION:  Permanent

16.5.23.5               EFFECTIVE DATE:  September 30, 1996, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section.

16.5.23.6               OBJECTIVE:  To establish criteria for continuing education for dental hygienists licensed in New Mexico.

16.5.23.7               DEFINITIONS:  [RESERVED]

16.5.23.8               HOURS REQUIRED:  45 hours of continuing education, a maximum of 30 hours can be on-line, webinars or self-study are required during each triennial renewal cycle as defined in 16.5.1 NMAC.  Continuing education received after submission of renewal materials but prior to actual expiration date may be used for the requirements of the next renewal cycle.  Continuing education requirements are pro-rated at 15 hours per full year of the initial licensing period. Initial licenses issued for less than a full year do not require continuing education for the first renewal.

16.5.23.9               COURSES REQUIRED:  Continuing education coursework must contribute directly to the practice of dental hygiene and must comply with the requirements of 16.5.1.15 NMAC of these rules.  The following courses are required for license renewal:

                A.            basic life support (BLS) or cardiac pulmonary resuscitation (CPR):  proof of current certification accepted by the American heart association,  the American red cross, or the American safety and health institute (ASHI); cannot be a self-study course;

                B.            infection control:  as further defined in 16.5.1.16 NMAC, a course in infection control techniques and sterilization procedures per renewal period.

16.5.23.10             VERIFICATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION:  The committee will select renewal applications for verification of continuing education.  Audit requests will be included with the renewal notice and those selected individuals will be asked to submit proof of compliance with the continuing education requirements. Continuing education records may be audited by the committee at any time.  The records identified in Subsection F of 16.5.1.15 NMAC are considered acceptable forms of documentation.  Continuing education records must be maintained for one year following the renewal cycle in which they are earned.

16.5.23.11             EMERGENCY DEFERRAL:

                A.            A licensee unable to fulfill the continuing education requirements may apply to the committee for an emergency deferral of the requirements due to extenuating circumstances as defined in 16.5.1.7 NMAC.  Deferrals of up to four months may be granted by a designee of the committee.

                B.            A licensee practicing or residing outside the United States shall not be required to fulfill the continuing education requirements for the period of the absence.

                    (1)     The committee must be notified prior to license expiration that the licensee will be outside the US, including the period of the absence.

                    (2)     Upon return to the US, the licensee shall complete the continuing education required for the years of practice within the US during the renewal cycle, or apply for an emergency deferral.